top of page
  • Black Instagram Icon
Search
  • Writer's picturePele Le'au

Journal 2: Joiking



In what ways is language "impoverished" when it comes to expressing emotion? Could music be considered a language? What other things might transcend language, in that we wouldn't need to understand the words being said to understand the intention?

Language at some points isn't enough to really describe the emotions you're feeling. As someone who has a hard time articulating my feelings into words, its downright challenging. Thats why I feel that drawing and music are a way of expressing the pent up emotions. Music could be a language, but I feel that music is more of a way of expressing yourself sometimes with or without language. Dancing is also another way that transcended language. In dance, they use specified moves to show happiness or to show sadness. Emotions are a universal concept that be articulated in many ways.










2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Weekend Olfactory Diary

1. Hairspray Smelled sweet and sour Smelled at Salon Mei Was sprayed into my hair for prom Reminded me of when I was younger, and always fought getting my hair done 2. My mom's perfume Smelled like co

bottom of page