top of page
  • Black Instagram Icon
Search
  • Writer's picturePele Le'au

Kokoro Noir

"the beach was always crowded with men and women, and at times the sea, like a public bath, would be covered with a mass of black heads," (Soseki, 2).

"but you must be careful, you must remember that there is guilt in loving," (Soseki, 27).

"indeed, the grave stood like some monstrous thing, forever separating us," (Soseki, 32).

"there is no such thing as a stereotype bad man in this world. under normal conditions, everybody is more or less good, at least, ordinary," (Soseki 61).

"thus, in a desperate desire to act, I boarded the Tokyo-bound train," (Soseki, 124).

"...you see, I am an inconsistent person. this inconsistency may not be so much a natural part of my character as the effect that the remembrance of my own past has had on me," (Soseki, 126).

"the devil had passed before me, so to speak, casting his shadow over me for a moment," (Soseki, 164).

"then I looked around, and for the first time, I saw the blood on the wall," (Soseki, 230)

"so long as my wife is alive, I want you to keep everything I have told you a secret—even after I myself am dead," (Soseki, 248).

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Weekend Olfactory Diary

1. Hairspray Smelled sweet and sour Smelled at Salon Mei Was sprayed into my hair for prom Reminded me of when I was younger, and always fought getting my hair done 2. My mom's perfume Smelled like co

bottom of page