top of page
  • Black Instagram Icon
Search
  • Writer's picturePele Le'au

Melancholy



Mutterseelenallein (German): described as loneliness, but much harder-hitting than that: it's meant to evoke abandonment by everybody you love, and literally means that your mother's soul has left you. (bustle.com)

Sometimes I stay awake at 3am, and I wonder if everyone I love is there for me. It sort of is a kind of moment where I wonder if they care about me, or wonder why they don't text me as much. It's more or less a time where I question my sanity. Even more so at this time I truly feel completely alone. I feel abandoned, and sometimes I cry at this point. However, it's not an excuse for me to fall back into patterns where I don't properly take car of myself.


“Nobody ever gets what they want when it comes to love.” (Scott Turow)

She dwells with Beauty—Beauty that must die; (John Keats)

I think that this is my favorite line from Ode to Melancholy because to me it shows the harsh reality between beauty and death. Flowers are beautiful; however, if you pick the flower, it will eventually die. To me this means that beauty if fleeting and death is always imminent.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Weekend Olfactory Diary

1. Hairspray Smelled sweet and sour Smelled at Salon Mei Was sprayed into my hair for prom Reminded me of when I was younger, and always fought getting my hair done 2. My mom's perfume Smelled like co

bottom of page